Oneshiki Jun At Tokyo Ramen Street

20131128-104923.jpg

I’ve noticed that a lot of folks who check out this blog are interested in Tokyo Ramen Street at Tokyo Station, so I thought I should highlight another of its shops — Oneshiki Jun (俺式 純).  Oneshiki, which is part of a chain of ramen restaurants called Setagaya, is one of the new ramen joints that moved in following recent renovations to the Street. It specializes in tonkotsu (pork bone broth) ramen and offers a couple of tsukemen (dipping noodle) options as well.

On my recent visit there, I ordered their Tonkotsu DX ramen.  The soup was very creamy and relatively thick compared to other tonkotsu ramen I have tried. It’s definitely creamier than the stuff served at places like Ippudo and Ikaruga, and maybe slightly more so than Ichiran’s soup though not as sweet. It’s quite viscous — when I was finishing up, I tipped the bowl to get the last spoonful of soup and noticed how slowly the liquid was sliding from the bottom to the side.

The DX is also topped with a spoonful of mentaiko (marinated cod roe) which added a briny taste to the ramen. Oneshiki is the only place I’ve been to (so far) that does this, and it was a plus for me given that I love mentaiko.

The other toppings were pretty standard for tonkotsu ramen: poached eggs with bright orange yolks, bean sprouts, green onion, wood ear mushrooms, and several pieces of nori seaweed. The pork chashu was nicely grilled and leaner than the stuff at most other places. It reminded me a little bit of the chashu at Afuri, but Afuri’s is much better. Still good, though.

You also have the option to doctor up your bowl of noodles with garlic, pickled ginger, and chili paste. The chili paste was particularly tasty, and looked a little bit like the chili sauce that you see on the tables of many Chinese restaurants back in America but without the inch of orange/red oil on top. I had quite a bit of it with my second helping of noodles.

IMG_1987

Overall, Oneshiki was an enjoyable place for ramen. Of the tonkotsu options I’ve tried so far at Tokyo Ramen Street, I think I like Ikaruga better but Oneshiki is not a bad choice.

So, this means I’ve tried five of the eight ramen joints at Tokyo Ramen Street. I’ve listed my reviews on the other ones below. I hope to get to the last three in the next few months.

  • Rokurinsha – Extremely popular tsukemen joint.
  • Ikaruga – Great tonkotsu ramen place.
  • Shichisai – Makes its own noodles on site and serves a range of ramen options.
  • Kizo – Delicious beef tongue ramen.  You won’t believe that it’s beef tongue.
Oneshiki Jun
Location: B1F Yaesu South Exit, Tokyo Station, 1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku
Business Hours: 10:30am – 11:30pm (Last order 11:00pm)
Getting There: Tokyo Ramen Street can be a little tricky to find if you’re not familiar with Tokyo Station. It is located on the Yaesu side, which is the eastern portion of the station. Go to the Yaesu south exit and look for the McDonald’s. Next to the McDonald’s is a flight of stairs with signs for “First Avenue Tokyo Station” and Tokyo Ramen Street. Go down the stairs to the B1 level and Tokyo Ramen Street will be right in front of you. The entrance to Oneshiki Jun is located on the long, broad hallway to the left (not the narrow cooridor on the right where many of the other ramen shops are located).  It’s on the right side of the hallway, behind Rokurinsha.  
Leave a Reply

